A person looks through books on a bookshelf.

Recommended Reads

12 under-the-radar reads to discover this summer

Share:

May 29, 2024

The jeweler only buys what his merchant delivers. The prospector sticks to familiar mines. The customer recognizes a gem only when it’s polished and placed on display. But you, intrepid explorer, are destined to find buried treasure where others haven't thought to look.

There’s a special joy in discovering a book that hasn't made the rounds yet. The victory of being the first to suggest it for book club; the pride in knowing you might be the first fervent fan of the next literary sensation. Remember, A Game of Thrones took nearly 15 years to hit the New York Times bestseller list. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho initially floundered with a tiny publisher, and even Moby Dick was so underappreciated that Herman Melville’s obituary misspelled its title.

With the Libby app from your library, exploration becomes effortless – the map is already in your pocket, and the undiscovered titles are just a tap away. We’re here to help you pan for gold by unearthing a trove of titles that make us swoon.

Discover hidden treasure in the books below and claim your next great read in Libby.

The Secret Life of SunflowersThe Secret Life of Sunflowers by Marta Molnar
HISTORICAL FICTION

When Hollywood auctioneer Emsley Wilson finds her famous grandmother's diary, the pages are full of surprises. The first surprise is, the diary isn't her grandmother's. It belongs to Johanna Bonger, Vincent van Gogh's sister-in-law. The inspiration couldn't come at a better time for Emsley. With her business failing, an unexpected love turning up in her life, and family secrets unraveling, can she find answers in the past?


If Only I Had Told HerIf Only I Had Told Her by Laura Nowlin
ROMANCE

An intensely emotional and gripping companion novel to If He Had Been With Me about the love that both breaks and heals us. Perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover and Jenny Han.


GLEEMGLEEM by Freddy Carrasco
COMICS & GRAPHIC NOVELS

Imbued with cyberpunk attitude and in the rebellious tradition of afrofuturism, GLEEM is drawn with a fierce momentum hurtling towards a future world. Carrasco's distinct cinematic style layers detailed panels and spreads, creating a multiplicity of perspectives, at once dizzying and hypnotic.


Architectural Digest at 100Architectural Digest at 100 by Architectural Digest
NONFICTION/PHOTOGRAPHY

A 100-year visual history of the magazine, showcasing the work of top interior designers and architects and the personal spaces of numerous celebrities.


My Hero Academia, Vol. 37My Hero Academia, Vol. 37 by Kohei Horikoshi
MANGA

The terrifying fusion of Tomura and All For One now seems unstoppable. Since the villains have the upper hand, even the president of the United States is considering the unthinkable — capitulating to Tomura. But Mirko, Edgeshot, and Jeanist are still on the scene, holding on for dear life. The heroes' big plan was always to pit Midoriya against Tomura, and when the young hero finally arrives and sees what's happened, all bets are off — Midoriya's ready to face his deadly rival.


Seoul Before SunriseSeoul Before Sunrise by Samir Dahmani
COMICS & GRAPHIC NOVELS

Haunted by a lost friendship, Seong-Ji (re)discovers herself during nocturnal explorations of a dreamlike Seoul.


The Next FilesThe Next Files by Gary L. Keady
SCI-FI/FANTASY

Jax de Loite, a fresh graduate, joins NewsLine as a researcher. Assigned to 'The Next Files' by Executive Producer Des Carter, she investigates supernatural phenomena. Her first case involves a haunted restaurant with the help of skeptic Doc Lee. In their next adventure, they explore a mysterious scientist's disappearance, leading Jax into the mystical Dreamtime.


The Pivot YearThe Pivot Year by Brianna Wiest
NONFICTION/SELF-HELP

If you're in a pivot period — if you're still bridging the space between where you are and where you want to be —remember that the person you're becoming is already within you. The journey is convincing your mind to act consistently on what your heart already knows it wants to do.


The TeacherThe Teacher by Frieda McFadden
THRILLER/SUSPENSE

Eve has a good life. She wakes up each day, kisses her husband Nate, and heads off to teach math at the local high school. All is as it should be. Except last year, Caseham High was rocked by a scandal involving a student-teacher affair, with one student, Addie, at its center. But Eve knows there is far more to these ugly rumors than meets the eye. Nobody knows the real Addie. Nobody knows the secrets that could destroy her. And Addie will do anything to keep it quiet.


The CrowsThe Crows by C. M. Rosens
HORROR

Sink into this chilling gothic horror novel of haunted houses, eldritch monsters, and things that go bump in the night.


ParadaisParadais by Fernanda Melchor
MYSTERY/THRILLER

Written in a chilling torrent of prose, Paradais explores the explosive fragility of Mexican society and how the myths, desires, and hardships of teenagers can tear life apart at the seams.


FeastFeast by Emily O’Grady
LITERATURE

From the author of The Yellow House, this compelling novel is about three women connected beyond blood, and what happens when their darkest secrets are hauled into the light.


*Title availability may vary by library & region.

RELATED READ: Our favorite indie book picks from 2023

Gryphon_Beyerle.jpg

About the Author

Gryphon Beyerle is an Account Manager at OverDrive specializing in international publisher services. She lives in Cleveland, Ohio, where she’s stuck in a Groundhog-Day-style loop of snacking, reading, and napping.

Categories


Never miss a post

Get the best in books straight to your inbox weekly!
Unsubscribe anytime!
Stay connected

Follow for updates on TwitterFollow for updates on InstagramFollow for updates on FacebookFollow for updates on TikTok